Elizabeth Taylor Leaves $600M Fortune To AIDS Charities

Typical American Regrets of the Day: A recent study conducted by Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management professor of marketing Neal Roese and Mike Morrison of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign asked 370 adults to describe their most memorable regret in detail.

“Romance” reigned supreme as Americans’ chief regret, with 44% of women reporting a romance-oriented regret versus 19% of men responding similarly. Furthermore, individuals who were not involved were most likely to respond with a romantic regret.

“We found that one’s life circumstances, such as accomplishments or shortcomings, inject considerable fuel into the fires of regret,” Roese is quoted as saying. “Although regret is painful, it is an essential component of the human experience.”

First Look of the Day: Concept art for Pixar’s 13th feature-length film, Brave, has arrived online courtesy of EW’s Inside Movies. The animated fairy tale will be Pixar’s first feature to star a female protagonist, and its first film to be co-directed by a woman.

A synopsis follows:

Brave is set in the mystical Scottish Highlands, where Merida is the princess of a kingdom ruled by King Fergus (Billy Connolly) and Queen Elinor (Emma Thompson). An unruly daughter and an accomplished archer, Merida one day defies a sacred custom of the land and inadvertently brings turmoil to the kingdom. In an attempt to set things right, Merida seeks out an eccentric old Wise Woman (Julie Walters) and is granted an ill-fated wish. Also figuring into Merida’s quest — and serving as comic relief — are the kingdom’s three lords: the enormous Lord MacGuffin (Kevin McKidd), the surly Lord Macintosh (Craig Ferguson), and the disagreeable Lord Dingwall (Robbie Coltrane).

Brave is due in theaters June 22, 2012.

MARCY DOLIN: I’m lying on my bed, smoking a joint. I smoke about eight a day, and eat a marijuana cookie before I go to sleep at night. I like the peanut-butter ones. I’ve been using marijuana for about 35 years, ever since I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. It takes the pain and muscle spasms away. Without it, I would be living on morphine and other horrible drugs. I couldn’t do that to my family. That’s no life, and I would have ended it. That’s the truth. I used to take a drug called Neurontin, and I just never stopped crying. I was in a fog, totally depressed. I told my doctor that I was going back to just marijuana; he said he would have me arrested if he could. What are they going to do? I’m 71 years old. Are they going to put me in jail? I’m not hurting anybody. It’s just here in my own house.

The New York Times

Follow Up of the Day: Well how about that: Turns out Barefoot Contessa Ina Garten does have some time for terminally ill cancer patient Enzo after all.

Garten, who previously turned down the 6-year-old fan’s dying wish for facetime twice — once with a “definite no” — released a statement through her rep saying she “only became aware of Enzo’s story this weekend” (despite the wish being over a year old). “[Ina] looks forward to inviting him to spend some time with her at the Food Network studios,” the rep went on to say.

All’s well that the Internet made end well.

[tmz.]

UPDATE: So apparently Enzo is now snubbing the Barefoot Contessa right back! TMZ says Enzo isn’t even interested in meeting with Ina Garten anymore, and is much more excited to fulfill his back up wish: Swimming with dolphins.

Twitter Account of the Day: The Bronx Zoo’s escaped Egyptian cobra has a Twitter account because of course it does.

Leave a Reply

