We may miss a great deal of joy because we expect it to be unusual, dramatic, and spectacular.
We are waiting for lights to flash and bells to ring.
But the truth is that joy is here, right now, waiting for us to notice it.

What nobody on this earth realizes is that celebrities aren’t the ones who are interesting. People, in general, are inherently fascinating. Everybody’s got stories to tell.

If only we would listen to them.

I wear this angel’s crown to cover up my devil’s frown. And upon my broken chest lay a struggle between loneliness and things that are out of place, like my head in outer space.

You set yourself up for happiness or you set yourself up for sadness. Either way, it’s your doing.

It troubles me how acutely we feel the lack of things, not their presence.

I used to think I was the strangest person in the world but then I thought, there are so many people in the world, there must be someone just like me who feels bizarre and flawed in the same ways I do. I would imagine her, and imagine that she must be out there thinking of me too. Well, I hope that if you are out there and read this and know that, yes, it’s true I’m here, and I’m just as strange as you.

‎-ϟ- The things that happen to us, even the bad, is part of us. It took me a long time to realize that it doesn’t have to define who we are. We get to decide that. -ϟ-

Someone doesn’t like you? Fuck it. Having a bad day? Fuck it.
Didn’t get that job, or that grade, or that promotion you wanted? Fuck it. Fighting with your lover? Fuck it. Feel fat today? Fuck it. What matters now won’t matter soon; the truly important thing is that you are alive, and that you have the capacity to do absolutely anything with this beautiful, crazy coincidence of being on this earth.

Joan of Arc came back as a little girl in Japan, and her father told her to stop listening to her imaginary friends.

Elvis was born again in a small village in Sudan, he died hungry, age 9, never knowing what a guitar was.

Michelangelo was drafted into the military at age 18 in Korea, he painted his face black with shoe polish and learned to kill.

Jackson Pollock got told to stop making a mess, somewhere in Russia.

Hemingway, to this day, writes DVD instruction manuals somewhere in China. He’s an old man on a factory line. You wouldn’t recognise him.

Gandhi was born to a wealthy stockbroker in New York. He never forgave the world after his father threw himself from his office window, on the 21st floor.

And everyone, somewhere, is someone, if we only give them a chance.

Someone woke up today.
Someone woke up today and kissed someone they love on the forehead.
Someone woke up today and kissed someone they love on the forehead, before they left.
Someone woke up today and kissed someone they love on the forehead, before they left, they said
“I love you. Have a good day. I’ll speak to you later.”
Someone woke up today and kissed someone they love on the forehead, before they left, they said
“I love you. Have a good day. I’ll speak to you later. I love you. I love you.”
And they replied
“I love you.”
And they kissed them goodbye.
For the very last time.

Someone woke up today. But they won’t wake up tomorrow.

(that someone could be you)

You notice someone cutting you off in traffic. But not that the earth is still here for one more day.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

