This Is Important, You Should Know About It of the Day: 53-year-old Ai Weiwei — an outspoken critic of the Chinese government and by all accounts China’s best-known artist (previously) — is missing and his whereabouts are unknown after he was detained by police at Beijing Capital International Airport.

In addition to his sudden disappearance, Ai’s studio in north Beijing was raided and over 30 computers were confiscated. Ai’s wife Lu Qing was also detained, but was released after questioning. “They asked me about Ai Weiwei’s work and the articles he posted online … I told them that everything that Ai did was very public, and if they wanted to know his opinions and work they could just look at the internet,” she told the Associated Press.

According to The Guardian, Beijing police claim they know nothing about Ai, and an airport police spokesman was similarly mum. Ai’s arrest is reportedly part of a wider government crackdown on dissidents in which several have been criminally detained, arrested for incitement, or disappeared.

Kid Cudi Quits Drugs

I dont smoke weed anymore. Ill leave it to the kids. Im 27 with a business to run and i need to be alert and focused with my mind strong. For those who still get it on, smoke one in my memory as your favorite lonely stoner.

This is not a joke. I know most of you wanna see me all drugged out and fucked up and i know misery loves company, but im sorry those days are over. I had a good run, Amsterdam and all. Im happy being sober. Im happy being a new me. Giva fuck who thinks of me different, you didnt care about me in the first place if you cant be proud and happy for me for growing and starting a new chapter. Im not your puppet or your tap dancing drug addict here to be your miserable muse, i always made music for me to help myself find understanding. I have finally learned from the words in my songs. I love who loves me and who really cares about me.

Learn from this, theres always light at the end of the tunnel. Hell does have an exit, and i found it. For those who are looking for a way out, i left the door open, and ill be waiting for whoever wants to grow with me. Peace and Love, Cudi

Women take part in the “Slutwalk” protest in Toronto, April 3, 2011. Protesters hit the streets to protest against rape and sexual crimes in response to Toronto Police Const. Michael Sanguinetti, quoted saying“Women should avoid dressing like sluts in order not to be victimized.”

Follow Up of the Day: “Every day I am beaten,” says Eman al-Obeidi, the Libyan woman who risked her life to barge into the Tripoli hotel housing the foreign press so she could tell the world how she had been criminally detained and gang raped by Gadhafi’s militia.

Speaking with NPR’s Soraya Sarhaddi Nelson in one of her first interviews since being forcibly removed from the Rixos Hotel by security officials, al-Obeidi says she was taken to a prison for 72 hours then allowed to go home, but claims she is detained and beaten every time she tries to leave her house. Yesterday, she says, she was “beaten very hard [so] that I can’t even leave my bed today.” Al-Obeidi went on to say that, as far as she knows, none of the men who were allegedly involved in the rape have been arrested, and the “public prosecutor refuses to meet with me.”

Speaking earlier with CNN, al-Obeidi complained that the smear campaign against herhas ruined her reputation. She says her morale is low due to heckling from the public, and she is suffering from nightmares as a result. “They did not give me a chance to respond,” she is quoted as saying.

Al-Obeidi’s complete interview with CNN’s AC360 airs tonight at 10PM EST. Her interview with NPR, which aired on All Things Consideredcan be streamed here.

chicken fat fuel

NASA Tests Chicken Fat Jet Fuel.

NASA and the US Air Force are currently testing chicken fat as a “renewable” fuel source in part of their jet fleet.

The US military is trying to come up with petroleum-free fuel for their vehicles and chicken fat may be an option. The Air Force has purchased 8,000 gallons of chicken fat to help power their jets.  The only hurdle now is their ongoing testing for possible health hazards that might be associated with its use.

“The use of alternative fuels, including the use of biofuels in aircraft, is a key element for substantially reducing the impact of aviation on the environment and for reducing the dependency on foreign petroleum” said Glen Rubin Del Rosario from NASA.

This seems like it could be the wave of the future. Tyson Foods has so much fat laying around that they hope to produce 75 million gallons of jet fuel a year.

I really hope this doesn’t mean Tyson and KFC will become the new leaders of the energy market. This does leave me questioning though, are chickens really a renewable resource?

 

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

