Nylon Magazine: When you got the books, would you skip ahead to try and find the Ginny Weasley scenes?
Bonnie Wright: I remember doing that sometimes, but then it would kind of ruin the story, so I ended up just reading as I’d read any book normally. But I remember, you know, so many people would call me or text me the day the books came out. They’d go, “Oh my god, Bonnie, have you read page two-hundred-and-whatever?” And I’m like, “No! Stop! Don’t tell me anything!” That was torture!

Nylon Magazine: Did you and the rest of the cast get the books before everyone else?
Bonnie Wright: Unfortunately not! Actually, the most grating thing I’ve ever seen in a movie is in The Devil Wears Prada, when those two little kids get the Harry Potter books ahead of time. I was like, “Are you kidding? That would never, ever, ever happen!” [JK Rowling] is so guarded, and she always wants everything to be released at the exact same time. Even the international translators would only get the books when they were already on sale, so nothing leaked out. Everybody – I mean everybody, Dan, Emma, everyone – had to wait just like you.

lewis carroll’s genius is not only in the words themselves but the fact this poem can be read both horizontally and vertically.

Leave a Reply

