All of a sudden it hit me. I’m always the one attempting to catch people when they fall. Now I’m beginning to wonder who’s going to catch me?

Lately, I’ve been in meetings regarding a new script idea I have. A studio executive asked me to change the female lead to a male, because ‘women don’t go to movies.’ Really? When I pointed out the box office successes of Sex and the City, Mamma Mia, and Obsessed, he called them ‘flukes.’ He said ‘don’t quote me on this.’ So, I’m telling everybody.

– Nia Vardalos, Studios Won’t Cast Women as Leads Because “Women Don’t Go to Movies”


There was a Helen before there was a War, but who remembers her?


You cannot shake hands with a clenched fist.


That’s one thing that’s always, like, been a difference between, like, the performing arts, and being a painter, you know. A painter does a painting, and he paints it, and that’s it, you know. He has the joy of creating it, it hangs on a wall, and somebody buys it, and maybe somebody buys it again, or maybe nobody buys it and it sits up in a loft somewhere until he dies. But he never, you know, nobody ever, nobody ever said to Van Gogh, ‘Paint a Starry Night again, man!’ You know? He painted it and that was it.

There are no good girls gone wrong—just bad girls found out.

Leave a Reply

