The quiet scares me because it screams the truth.

“It means nothing to me. I have no opinion about it, and I don’t care.”

Picasso

“I still think that human beings, even our beautiful and wretched souls, are just biology, are just a series of chemical and physical reactions that one day stop, and so do we, and that is that. But I’m looking forward to this blank peace, this oblivion, this nothing, this not being me anymore. I am looking forward to it for real. Or at least, this is what I tell myself. I tell myself I’m not scared, I tell myself I really want to die, and it never occurs to me until the last possible moment that what I really want is to be saved.”

Prozac Nation, Elizabeth Wurtzel

“New psychological research out of the University of Buffalo demonstrates how, “When we read, we psychologically become part of the community described in the narrative—be they wizards or vampires. That mechanism satisfies the deeply human, evolutionarily crucial, need for belonging.” Experiments conducted by the research team indicated that after reading books like Harry Potter and Twilight, subjects felt themselves to be more closely associated with the community of characters in the books. “Belonging” to these communities, although they are make-believe, gave subjects feelings of satisfaction associated with having real human relationships.”

How Reading Expands the Sense of Self | IdeaFeed | Big Think

In Egypt, libraries were called the soul’s remedy treasure because, in there, it was possible to cure the ignorance, the most dangerous of all diseases and the source of all others.



Facebook asks what I’m thinking. Twitter asks what I’m doing. Foursquare asks where I am. The Internet has turned into a crazy girlfriend.

“I regret nothing. No woman with any self-respect would have done less. The question of good and evil will always be one of philosophy’s most intriguing problems, up there with the problem of existence itself. I’m not quarreling with your choice of issues, only with your intellectually diminished approach. If evil means to be self-motivated, to live on one’s own terms, then every artist, every thinker, every original mind, is evil. Because we dare to look through our own eyes rather than mouth cliches lent us from the so-called Fathers. To dare to see is to steal fire from the Gods. This is mankind’s destiny, the engine which fuels us as a race.”

Janet Fitch, White Oleander

THE ONLY THING WORSE THAN

A BOY WHO HATES YOU:

a boy you loves you.

Think positive, encouraging, uplifting thoughts, and the negative will soon disappear.

2 thoughts on “The quiet scares me because it screams the truth.

Leave a Reply

