jace: that does it. i’m going to get you a dictionary for christmas this year.
isabelle: why?
jace: so you can look up ‘fun’. i’m not sure you know what it means.


Experts in ancient Greek culture say that people back then didn’t see their thoughts as belonging to them. When ancient Greeks had a thought, it occured to them as a god or goddess giving an order. Apollo was telling them to be brave. Athena was telling them to fall in love.

Now people hear a commercial for sour cream potato chips and rush out to buy, but now they call this free will.

At least the ancient Greeks were being honest.

“Have you got a case of the “when I haves”? The “when I haves” are the tripped up mentality that “when I have that job, or when I have that relationship, or when I have that money… — then I’ll be happy.” This future-tripping leads your mind to control, manipulate and over-think. In addition, you’ll be led to thoughts like, “when will I get there” and “why am i not there yet.” This obsession with future outcomes will always lead to discomfort. What happens is that you’ve turned that future outcome into an idol. You’ve placed the outcome on a pedestal proclaiming that “when I have that, then I’ll be happy.” Or even worse, you tell yourself that because you don’t have it now, your life totally sucks and you’ll never be happy.”

Riccardo Ferrari

Western laziness consists of cramming our lives with compulsive activity, so that there is no time at all to confront the real issues.


what if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?

Classic. Ambient for Plastic surgeon Dr. Kim. Be born again.

“The transgendered community has to be protected. I just don’t have any tolerance for that sort of intolerance. And I think we need to legislate aggressively to protect them.”

Barack Obama

Often I wish my friends were clouds instead of humans

this is the secret of the stars, i tell myself. in the end, we are alone.

“If I tell you I love you, can I keep you forever?”

Casper

the instant the sun rises, it also begins to set. the moment we are born, we begin to die. all of life is a cycle.

i wish friends held hands more often, like the children i see on the streets sometimes. i’m not sure why we have to grow up and get embarrassed about it.

“I don’t have prejudice against meself. My father was a white and my mother was black. Them call me half-caste or whatever. Me don’t dip on nobody’s side. Me don’t dip on the black man’s side nor the white man’s side. Me dip on God’s side, the one who create me and cause me to come from black and white”

Bob Marley reflecting on his own racial identity

Your past is always your past. Even if you forget, it remembers you.

“Nothing exists except atoms and empty space. Everything else is opinion.”

Democritus

The trouble with fiction… is that it makes too much sense. Reality never makes sense.

Leave a Reply

