I’m the hero of the story, don’t need to be saved.

Why Old Books Smell Good

Lignin, the stuff that prevents all trees from adopting the weeping habit, is a polymer made up of units that are closely related to vanillin. When made into paper and stored for years, it breaks down and smells good. Which is how divine providence has arranged for secondhand bookstores to smell like good quality vanilla absolute, subliminally stoking a hunger for knowledge in all of us.

“It isn’t what you have in your pocket that makes you thankful, but what you have in your heart.” 
Imagine being born without arms.
No arms to wrap around a friend; no hands to hold the ones you love; no fingers to experience touch; no way to lift or carry things.
How much more difficult would life be if you were living without arms and hands?
Or what about legs? Imagine if instead of no arms, you had no legs. No ability to dance, walk, run, or even stand.
Now put both of those scenarios together… no arms and no legs.
What would you do? How would that affect your everyday life?
Meet Nick Vujicic. 

I got everything I need right here with me. I got the air in my lungs and a few blank sheets of paper.  I love waking up in the morning not knowing what’s gonna happen or who I’m gonna meet. Or where I’m gonna wind up. Just the other night I was sleeping under a bridge, and now here I am in the grandest ship in the world having champagne with all you fine people. I figure life’s a gift and I don’t intend on wasting it. You never know what hand you’re gonna dealt next. You wanna take life as it comes at you. To make each day count.

Leave a Reply

