There are 6,775,235,842 people in the world. Why are you letting one of them ruin your life?

This is a photo of the first Black girl to attend an all white school in the United States—Dorothy Counts—being jeered and taunted by her white, male peers. 

You make your own dream. That’s the Beatles’ story, isn’t it? That’s Yoko’s story. That’s what I’m saying now. Produce your own dream. If you want to save Peru, go save Peru. It’s quite possible to do anything, but not to put it on the leaders and the parking meters. Don’t expect Jimmy Carter or Ronald Reagan or John Lennon or Yoko Ono or Bob Dylan or Jesus Christ to come and do it for you. You have to do it yourself.
That’s what the great masters and mistresses have been saying ever since time began. They can point the way, leave signposts and little instructions in various books that are now called holy and worshipped for the cover of the book and not for what it says, but the instructions are all there for all to see, have always been and always will be.
There’s nothing new under the sun. All the roads lead to Rome. And people cannot provide it for you. I can’t wake you up. You can wake you up. I can’t cure you. You can cure you.

We’d said we’d keep in touch. But touch is not something you can keep; as soon as it’s gone, it’s gone. We should have said we’d keep in words, because they are all we can string between us–words on a telephone line, words appearing on a screen.

Love and I once had a great relationship, but I fear we’ve broken up. It cheated on me, wrecked my heart, and then went on to date other people. A lot of other people. And I can’t stand to watch it, since love’s going to cheat on them too.

I have a friend request from some stranger on facebook and I delete it without looking at the profile because that doesn’t seem natural. ‘Cause friendship should not be as easy as that. It’s like people believe all you need to do is like the same bands in order to be soulmates. Or books. omg… U like the outsiders 2… it’s like we’re the same person! No we’re not. It’s like we have the same English teacher. There’s a difference.

“I guess when your heart gets broken you start to see the cracks in everything. I’m convinced that tragedy wants to harden us, and that our mission is to never let it. I guess I’m learning, little by little, that we decide what our lives are going to be. Things happen to us but it’s our reactions that matter.”

Felicity

2 thoughts on “There are 6,775,235,842 people in the world. Why are you letting one of them ruin your life?

    • Thank you! I link all the pictures if I find their sources. If the pictures are source-less then I’m sorry but I have nowhere to link them to. Have a great day Josh!

Leave a Reply

