Here’s a list of affirmations that you can either print out and read, or write onto notecards to choose from to read every morning when you wake up or before meals:

-I am not afraid of growth enhancing commitments, which will advance my recovery.

-When I fill my body with good things I need-rest, proper nutrition, satisfying work, loving and caring, my effectiveness grows.

-Recovery may seem hard, but isn’t the alternative worse.

-Today, I will make an effort to take one small step toward reaching one of my goals.

-I can cope with change today without turning to or away from food.

-I can accept my difficulties as challenges, using them to spur on to continued growth.

-Today I will take every chance to participate in life, not control it.

-Today I will take a long good look at the good things in my life.

-I look back and see that my failures are showing me the way to success. I will accept the best I am able to do right now as success for today.

-I may not be in a very good mood. I may not make visible progress today. But, at the very least, I can avoid self-destructive behavior around food. I can follow my meal plan for today, whether I feel like it or not.

-My opinions are worthwhile and deserve to be heard.

-I am responsible for my own attitude.

-I choose to be kind and patient with myself in my progress toward recovery.

-I can be good to myself today and let my meal plan take care of my weight.

-Slips and slides should not be excuses for giving up.

-I give myself permission to begin again with whatever I am trying to learn.

-May I courageously continue the adventure of self-discovery.

-My Ed behaviors take me out of circulation and away form meaningful contacts. Recovery gives me back to those I love.

-I can decide to be cheerful and optimistic, just for today.

-I love and accept myself where I am now. I am wonderful.

-I am free to take charge of my life.

-I choose to release anger in harmless ways.

-I bless my body with love. All parts of my body are beautiful.

-I accept only thoughts that support me and make me feel good.

-I am the living, joyous expression of life. I am my own person.

-No person, place, thing, or thought has power over me.

-I am totally adequate for all situations that arise.

-I move forward with confidence and ease. I trust the flow and process of my life.

-I recognize my own true worth.

-It is safe for me to grow up. I can now handle my own life with joy and ease.

-I feel love for my body and the way it works.

-I am never STUCK. Change is always taking place.

-I am the only person who thinks in my mind. I am the power and authority in my world.

-I experience and express my emotions freely.

-I love and approve of myself, am at peace with my own feelings and stand tall and free.

-If I can endure for this minute whatever is happening to me. no matter how heavy my heart is or how dark the moment might be…If I can but keep on believing what I know in my heart to be true, That darkness will fade with morning and that this will pass away, too…Then nothing can ever disturb me or fill me with uncertain fear, For as sure as night brings dawning, my morning is bound to appear…

-I will hold on. I will be brave. I am almost there. I will never give up.

-I am naturally beautiful when I am myself.

-I am meant to be very different from everyone else. This releases the burden of feeling like I have to be someone other than me.

-I carry within me all the essentials of a happy existence.

-I will live my life in the way I want to be remembered.

-I will never please everyone and that’s okay.

-I am proud of myself for all I have accomplished no matter how small or great.

-I will not let the lessons or experiences of the past dampen my enthusiasm for new beginnings.

-One step at a time. That is how I will get where I am going.

-I can let go of shame.

-I am free to be all I can be.

-I can learn to embrace change.

-I will let myself receive the healing I need.

-I will not allow my disorder to control or manipulate me.

-I will nurture myself through each stage of recovery.

-I make the world more special just by being in it.

-I have choices. I can choose new responses to old situations. I can learn to recognize my true needs and choose positive ways of satisfying them. I can choose recovery-NOW!

-Whatever my weight today, I am a worthwhile person with valuable contributions to make to those around me.

-The only limitations I have are the ones I place on myself

Leave a Reply

