J.K.R.: They called me, and they said, “We think we’ve found him.” And then the first time I ever saw you was onscreen in my sitting room at home. They sent me a video of you.

… So, I saw you on that audition tape, and I don’t think I’ve ever really told you that I found it incredibly moving.

Dan: Oh, thank you so much.

J.K.R.: It was incredibly moving! At that point, I didn’t have a son … And I phoned David up, and I said “He’s great, he’s fantastic.” And I did say to David it was like watching my son onscreen. Because, after all, Harry feels like this ghostly son that I’ve had in my life. (x)

love your curves, love every part of you, your flaws and the parts you think are perfect. everything you are is beautiful. and there is no such thing as imperfections because imperfection is perfection.

“Here’s the thing about being a girlie girl. I think there was a generation before us that felt like they needed to act like men to be taken seriously, like they had to use their sexuality to take control of people. I don’t judge people for that. But I don’t want to take all my clothes off and use myself as an object. It’s part of the machine and I don’t think that necessarily pushes us forward as women. I think you can still be girlie and maintain your power. The fact that you associate being girlie with being non-threatening, that is … I mean, I can’t think of more blatant example of playing into exactly the thing that we’re trying to fight against. I can’t be girlie? Why do I need to be defined aesthetically by someone else’s perceptions of what makes me seem like someone who should be taken seriously? I’m going to wear whatever I want to wear, because I’m expressing myself, and I deserve that right. And I like the way that looks. You’re not demeaning yourself by acting girlie. I think the fact that people are associating being girlie with weakness, that needs to be examined. Not me dressing girlie. I don’t think that undermines my power at all.”

Zooey Deschanel via NEW YORK MAGAZINE

 

 

 

 

 

“I think animals need all the help they can get, because they have none. They have no rights. They have no protection. And so I think animals need help. And I think animals look to humans for protection, and of course humans lead them into slaughterhouses, which to me is just like an image of leading children into a slaughterhouse. There’s no difference. That level of trust and… But it’s a very cruel world.”

    Morrissey

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

