Having less is lighter. Start asking yourself if you really need everything you have, or if you just have it out of fear. Start to let go of what you have, so it doesn’t own you. And then, as you have less, you feel lighter. It’s wonderful.

Let the little things go. People who struggle often fight over little things. We obsess over things that don’t really matter. We create resistance instead of letting things glide off us. Let the little things go, breathe, and move on to the important things.

Clean as you go. Instead of letting the cleaning pile up, put things away when you’re done. Wash your bowl. Wipe the counters clean as you pass them. Sweep up dirt when you notice it. By cleaning a little bit at a time, as you make messes, cleaning up becomes a breeze, and it’s never difficult. By the way, this applies to everything in life, not just cleaning.

A good walk cures most problems. Want to lose weight and get fit? Walk. Want to enjoy life but spend less? Walk. Want to cure stress and clear your head? Walk. Want to meditate and live in the moment? Walk. Having trouble with a life or work problem? Walk, and your head gets clear.

     

Angela Lindvall and Shalom Harlow for John Galliano S/S 1999

This particular collection was inspired by the intricate art of dance.

  

Alexander McQueen Spring/Summer 2007 “Sarabande”

Shown in the round, accompanied by a live chamber orchestra, and in a set designed to evoke a deserted theatre and dominated by a single crystal chandalier, Sarabande is perhaps McQueen’s most unashamedly romantic show to date. The inspiration is Handel’s Sarabande of the title – a majestic and elegant dance – the portraits of Goya, the turn of the century exotic and socialite Marchesa Luisa Casati and garden flowers. As always, there is a melancholic undertone: faded flowers are trapped in chiffon and lace, ruffled skirts constructed out of tiers of delicate petals and prints are botanical – brightly coloured birds and blooms, scattering swallows and winding stems of leaves. Show pieces include a dress made entirely out of frozen flowers. Tailoring is this time more fluid than it has been and clothing indebted to horsemanship is worn with finely worked, oversized pirate shirts. McQueen’s idealisation of the feminine form continues with an exaggerated hour-glass silhouette.

That is why it is so important to let certain things go. To release them. To cut loose. People need to understand that no one is playing marked cards; sometimes we win and sometimes we lose. Don’t expect to get anything back, don’t expect recognition for your efforts, don’t expect your genius to be discovered or your love to be understood. Complete the circle. Not out of pride, inability, or arrogance, but simply because whatever it is no longer fits in your life. Close the door, change the record, clean the house, get rid of the dust.

Stop being who you were and become who you are.

– Paulo CoelhoThe Zahir

Take Care: November 15th

“Pardonne mes lèvres, ils trouvent du plaisir dans les endroits les plus inattendus..”

 

That Paris exists and anyone could choose to live anywhere else in the world will always be a mystery to me. 

 

When I first heard the song “Skyscraper” I hadn’t written on it. I heard it and I didn’t care. I was like “Oh my God. This song is incredible.” I recorded it a year ago before anything had happend. Before my breakdown. Before my treatment. I recorded it and I was just pouring tears in the studio like I was almost doubled over at some points and just in pain. I remember thinking this was kind of my cry for help back then because I hadn’t spoken to anyone about these issues and I hadn’t gotten the help that I needed. So, I recorded the song again a few months later after treatment because my voice is a lot stronger now that I’m not ruining it by damaging it by after every meal. It just didn’t feel the same and we kept the original one and I just feel for me it was such a symbol of like, I-I don’t know it was just symbolic of it like being the song that I recorded before treatment yet it’s providing a message and it was just like really crazy because the way that things played out, it ended up being my single. It represented everything that I’m trying to spread the word about, is getting help, rising above any issues that my fans are dealing with.

The Emperor asked Master Gudo,

“What happens to a man of enlightenment after death?”

“How should I know?” replied Gudo.

“Because you are a master,” answered the Emperor.

“Yes sir,” said Gudo, “but not a dead one.”

“Why should they ask me to put on a uniform and go 10,000 miles from home and drop bombs and bullets on Brown people in Vietnam while so-called Negro people in Louisville are treated like dogs and denied simple human rights? No I’m not going 10,000 miles from home to help murder and burn another poor nation simply to continue the domination of white slave masters over darker people in the world. This is the day when such evils must come to an end. I have been warned that to take such a stand would cost me millions of dollars. But I have said it once and I will say it again. The real enemy of my people is here. I will not disgrace my religion, my people or myself by becoming a tool to enslave those who are fighting for their own justice, freedom and equality. If I thought the war was going to bring freedom and equality to 22 million of my people they wouldn’t have to draft me, I’d join tomorrow. I have nothing to lose by standing up for my beliefs. So I’ll go to jail, so what? We’ve been in jail for 400 years.” – 1967

 

Click through:

 

Leave a Reply

